All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 15

Leave a comment

Today’s prompt in the 30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge asks
Do you visit any websites about self harm? If so, what are they?

twloha

Aside from a few blogs that touch on self harm (e.g. Pride in Madness, Marci, Mental Health and More, Imillnotcrazy) I frequent very few websites that tackle this topic. The reason for this is simple: I find discussion of self harm triggering, and were I to read blogs about self harm, my personal safety may be put in jeopardy.  In the past I have visited numerous blogs and websites about self harm, but continuously found myself up against highly triggering images of other peoples self harm. I have never liked looking at pictures of self harm, because it makes me want to replicate the damage on my own flesh, so such content put me off visiting these sites on a repeated basis.

“Your story possesses the capacity to inspire courage. It can create change and compassion, transforming a culture of stigma and misunderstanding. Your story matters because it can give another person hope.”
~ from Why Your Story Matters, by Rachael Stevens

The only website that I turn to for support when it comes to my self harm is To Write Love On Her Arms. Despite the slightly sexist name (some men write love on their arms too!) it is a glorious collection of inspiration, insight and supportive content. It’s blog, written by several different authors, is worth anyone’s time and regularly posts thought-provoking and inspiring stories. An events page houses a collection of events and campaigns that you can join, which is fine if you live in the US where most of the events take place, but less relevant for me, living as I do on the arse end of the world. There is also a store, where you can by branded merchandise, as well as all manner of information relating to depression, self harm and mental illness. It is certainly a website that I admire, and one that is more than worth a little of your time.

Leave a Reply

