All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

31 Days of Bipolar: Day 06. What I wish someone had told me…

Leave a comment

Day 06: What do you wish you’d known when you were diagnosed?

Nearly two years ago I attended an event in aid of Mental Health Week. Prior to a screening of (the excellent) Silver Linings Playbook, three nervous individuals took to the stage to talk about their recovery journey in front of one hundred and thirty expectant people: I was one of those three individuals. The speech I delivered was based from a blog post I had written, namely a letter to my younger self, that delivered sage-like advice about my impending bipolar diagnosis. As today’s prompt in the 31 Days of Bipolar Challenge is asking for a similar diatribe, I have decided to link to this post and urge everyone to read the letter I read out to those one hundred and thirty people, for it is a piece of writing I’ve always been proud of, and one of my personal highlights of this blog.

♥ READ: A LETTER TO MY YOUNGER SELF

But, it feels a bit odd (and like I’m cheating) to be answering a prompt with a simple link to an old (albeit excellent) post. So for people craving new and invigorating content, I present a postcard to my younger self that answers today’s prompt as simply and directly as possible:

Postcard to Younger Self

Click image to enlarge

Leave a Reply

