All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 10

Leave a comment

Today’s prompt in the 30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge asks
How do you feel about your scars?

I mentioned in an earlier post that I feel fairly ambivalent toward my scars. I neither like them nor dislike them. They are just part of who I am. Some are more visible than others whilst others are probably only visible to me because I know where to look. Given that I also suffer from body image issues, some might think that my scars should be things that I dislike about my body, but there are far more things to despise about myself than a few scars (a bit of shoulder hair, belly and lack of defined muscles immediately spring to mind!)

In fact, when I view my scars I see them as some would see their tattoos; they are reminders of a time/place in my life when I was feeling something specific and had only one option to treat the emotional pain I was feeling. They are markers of significant moments in my life that serve as a reminder of who I am, where I’ve been and where I’m going.

Leave a Reply

