All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Day 06: Five people who mean a lot to me

Leave a comment

The sixth day of the 10 Day Blogging Challenge asks for five people who mean a lot to me.

friendship

(in no particular order)

1. My support worker

After spending many years dealing with my mental health and homelessness on my own, it took a long time for me to build a trusting relationship with my support worker, but now that I have I can’t imagine life without her assistance. It can’t be easy being the support worker to someone as messed up and complex as me, especially given my non-existent self-esteem and distinct lack of any self-belief, but week after week she commits herself to doing all she can to push me into doing everything I can to achieve that most allowed and mythical of mind-states; recovery.

2. My family

It would be impossible to choose any one or two members of my family to put onto this list, so I’m breaking the rules and lumping them all into one entry. Whether it be my mother and father’s regular phone calls, the daily updates of my brother and sister-in-law’s Facebook accounts or the endless soap opera that is my sister’s life, my family have always been there to turn to in times of trouble and distress, and for that, I will always be eternally grateful.

3. Emilia

I first met Emilia through her connection to the Hearing Voices Support Group and her work at Gateway Community Health, the mental health organisation I frequent. Being a peer worker, with a similar history and outlook on life to my own, it is wonderful to have a friend who understands some of the experiences I’ve been through and accepts me for being myself, something very few people throughout my life have ever done.

4. Samantha

Even though she has long since left this world, Samantha’s friendship has always meant the world to me. After a succession of friendships that were decidedly one-sided, it was a pleasant change of pace to be around someone who accepted me in spite of my mental illness(es), occasionally eccentric actions and difficult to be around episodes.

5. The mental health blogging community

For seven and a half years I’ve been part of one of the brightest, most accepting and down-right inspired blogging communities in the world; the mental health blogging community. Without the support of you – my dear readers – this blog would have collapsed and burned a long time ago, so I thank you for putting up with my inner-most thoughts and occasional ramblings. Without your support, I don’t know where I’d be! :)

Leave a Reply

