All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Three favourite songs of 2013

Leave a comment

Music

– in no particular order –

~1~

Push the Sky Away | Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

I’ve been a long-time fan of Nick Cave, so when he released a new album earlier in the year I was first in line to listen to it…and I wasn’t let down. It is – like all his previous work – a masterwork of musical genius, and this track in particular is dark, thrilling and downright intoxicating; an absolute classic.

~2~

Roar | Katy Perry

Meadhbh wouldn’t let me hear the end of it if I didn’t include her favourite song of 2013 on this list. Over the last few months I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve endured listening to her roar along to this track. Sure it’s light, frothy and (somewhat) annoying pop music; but it’s undeniably catchy and entertaining! :)

~3~

Haxan | Ella Hooper

Many moons ago I would tune in to comedy music panel show Spicks and Specks on a regular basis. Partly because it was so darned entertaining and partly because  I hoped Ella Hooper would make a guest appearance. Fortunately, on a number of occasions, she did! Whilst Spicks and Specks lives on only in repeats, Ella Hooper’s musical output continues. This year she released a new solo album that is dreamy, atmospheric and haunting; simply a must-hear!

Leave a Reply

