All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Six-word memoirs: You have a choice. Chose life!

Leave a comment

The second day of the 15 Day Blog Challenge asks:
Write [a few] six-word memoirs

memoirs

What is a six-word memoir? Well, I wasn’t quite sure either, so I headed over to Life of Love’s response to this prompt to find out. There, courtesy of Colette at Caffeinated Convos, I discovered a simple explanation:

“Six word memoirs are exactly how it sounds: your life in six words. The history behind it is that Ernest Hemingway was asked to write a complete short story in as few words as possible. His response was, ‘For sale: Baby shoes, never worn.’ This then erupted into a way to tell sad, sweet, honest tales.”

For my six-word memoirs I’ve decided to write one for each of the different lives I’ve lived:

Childhood (1978-1990): Not a care in the world!

Teenage (1990-1999): Overweight and shy means consistently misjudged.

Backpacking (1999-2000): Bunks, Booze and Booty – oh my!

Twenty-something (2000-2007): Yay! Surreptitious bum squeezes reign supreme!  

Breakdown (2007): There is no love. Only loss.

Homelessness (2007-2012): Soul destroying yet occasionally – surprisingly – inspirational.

Present Day (2012-Present): Lost: hope. Please contact if found.

And one that encompasses my entire life:

cats

Leave a Reply

