All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Music for Monday: New meanings and old messages

Leave a comment

Earlier this year, before my relapse, I began working through a thirty day song challenge that I discovered on MM172001’s blog. Now that things are a little more settled I’ve decided to pick up where I left off, only instead of doing it daily, I will be sharing my responses weekly.

Each and every Monday for the next twelve weeks, I’ll share my response to two of the prompts so we can kick-start the week with some awesome music therapy.

Who knows, perhaps you’ll discover some new songs to love or a few old favourites to re-live! :)

A song that has a new meaning every time I hear it

Kettering | The Antlers

I first heard this song in 2010 when it featured on the soundtrack of the superb television show Chuck. The album it is taken from (Hospice) was the first concept album from the group The Antlers and tells the story of the relationship between a hospice worker and a female patient suffering from terminal bone cancer.

On the first few occasions I listened to it outside of Chuck it was the atmosphere the music produced that I soaked in, but further focus and reflection on the lyrics revealed so many more layers to this masterpiece of contemporary music, especially having been in an abusive relationship, which (to me) parts of this song are referring to.

You made me sleep all uneven
And I didn’t believe them
When they told me that there
Was no saving you”

A song I can always relate to

Unwell | Matchbox Twenty

More than any other song this is the one I can always relate to. For many – many – years it has been an unofficial anthem of mine and anyone who hears the lyrics should be able to understand why. I am particularly fond of the chorus, which is one of the few pieces of music I will always sing-a-long to whenever (and wherever) I hear it.

“But I’m not crazy, I’m just a little unwell
I know right now you can’t tell
But stay awhile and maybe then you’ll see
A different side of me…”

~ Previous installments of the Song Challenge ~

| Day 01: A song that makes me happy | Day 02: A song that makes me clear my head |
| Day 03: A song that makes me laugh | Day 04: A song that reminds me of something sad |

Leave a Reply

