All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

30 Day Photography Challenge – Day 01: Leaves

Leave a comment

About this photograph…

The leaf above came from a tree in the North South Wales city of Albury. Way back on the 21st June, I attended a Survivors of Suicide evening that was held in the main square of the city. It was an evening where those of us who have lost someone to suicide could gather and remember our loved ones whilst also voicing our belief that there needs to be a systemic change in the way society deals with this taboo.

That evening, I came home with three leaves, each representing a friend I’ve lost to suicide; Rachel, Stephanie and Samantha. This particular leaf is representative of the latter, whose death I have never been able to come to terms with.

Normally they live above a photo frame in my kitchen, but for today’s photograph I decided to shoot Samantha’s leaf against a backdrop of red (her favourite colour) and shift focus onto the veins of the leaf; a necessary body part for nearly all walks of life.

 ~ See the Blog Challenges page for more details about the 30 Day Photography Challenge ~

Leave a Reply

