All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Mi Recovery: Introduction

Leave a comment

mi recovery

Following Acting Up, another group I have begun this year is called “Mi Recovery”. Of all the groups I have begun this term, this is the one I am most looking forward to undertaking.

Mi Recovery is a peer education program for people living with mental illness, offering a peer based approach to the complex issues faced by people with mental illness by combining challenges faced through the lived experience with up to date best practice research. The program adopts a holistic approach where a person can acknowledge their whole self rather than living ‘as their illness(es).’

As with some of my other groups, I have decided to share my experiences of the group on this blog, not merely to chronicle my progress but to share any information or strategies I learn in the hope that others may find them useful in their own journeys.

Given confidentiality is paramount, these posts will focus only on my personal experiences and journey, as discussing the health and wellbeing of others without their permission can have a devastating effect on recovery, trust and health.

Over the following ten weeks I am hoping that Mi Recovery will assist in the creation of new coping strategies, further refine existing coping skills and help remind me who I am and my place in the world.

Only time will tell whether I’m successful in these goals but, as always, I will be giving it my best! :)

“Recovery does not mean that one is ‘cured’ nor does it mean that one is simply stabilized or maintained in the community. Recovery often involves a transformation of the self, wherein one both accepts one’s limitations and discovers a new world of possibility.”
~ Patricia Deegan~

Week 01: Theory on mental illness and factors that enable recovery.
Week 02: Reframing my Whole Self and Understanding Stigma.
Week 03: Treating myself.
Week 04: Planning for Recovery.
Week 05: Working with Relapse.
Week 06: Communication Skills and Strategies.
Week 07: Stigma, Discrimination, Rights and Advocacy.
Week 08: Making the most of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
Week 09: Motivating purposeful activity.
Week 10: Review of recovery aspirations and program conclusion.

Leave a Reply

