All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

30 Day Song Challenge: Hearts of Olden Glory

Leave a comment

…a song that makes me clear my head!

On any given day my mind is a cacophony of deafening voices, numbing negative thought, superfluous ideas and pain so debilitating that I wonder how I’m able to get out of bed, let alone do anything as complicated as write blog posts or visit the supermarket. In fact the noise is so constant, the trauma so prevalent, the memory so visceral, that I have yet to find anything (music or otherwise) that clears my head completely.

The only song that comes close is a bone-fide Scottish classic. A song so intensely beautiful that any Scotsperson worth their brogue should know it syllable for syllable.

Whenever I hear it, time stops. I am transported back to my homeland. To a time and place where anything seemed possible, where the world was my playground and the chaos that isolates me was but a distant nightmare. It is a song of such beauty, such majestic power, it can calm anxiety, ease panic and bring a smile to this world-weary man’s face at times when all hope and happiness have fled.

It is a song called Hearts of Olden Glory. A song that not only clears my head but is one of the defining anthems of my life; without it, I would not be the man I am today.

Hearts of Olden Glory | Runrig

“There’s thunder clouds
Round the hometown bay
As I walk out
In the rain
Through the sepia showers
And the photoflood days
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Of life

“There must be a place
Under the sun
Where hearts of olden glory
Grow young”

Tomorrow, on this blog: A song that makes me laugh…

Leave a Reply

