All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

30 Day Song Challenge: Journey of the Featherless

Leave a comment

In early 2008, Samantha and I had an epic online conversation about the power of music. After hours of sharing songs, memories and anecdotes we both concluded that music was life’s universal healer. No matter how serious or painful your problems, music has the power to make everything better.

For her, Nick Cave, Evanesence, Aqua and Biffy Clyro were more potent than any painkiller or antidepressant available.

For me? Well, I am about to embark on a thirty day song challenge that I discovered on MM172001’s blog so it would be spoilerific to share them right now.  So stay tuned to find out what songs hold the greatest power over my life, beginning with…

a song that makes me happy!

“So many people
Wondering ‘What’s the right direction?’
As far as I’m concerned
There’s only one way up

When you’re homeless, aside from whittling food-divining rods and searching for safe places to sleep, there really isn’t all that much to do. You roam the streets, work your arse off, day-dream about what life would be like if you weren’t homeless, write random blog posts and generally do whatever you can to survive. One of my survival techniques was to venture into the Melbourne City Library, pick out random CDs I’d never heard of and spend an hour listening to them on the free CD players they provided.

During one of those sessions I picked up a superbly titled album, Feel Good Ghosts (Tea-Partying Through Tornadoes), by a group I’d never heard of, Cloud Cult. I was falling for it by the end of track one, pondering how many dates I’d need to take it on before I got lucky by the end of track two, declaring my unconditional love for it by the end of track four and – upon listening to track six – planning a complicated, creative and sickeningly romantic marraige proposal.

Even though this song reminds me of one of the most painful periods of my life, it also reminds me of life, love, hope, determination, passion and happiness, for even on the darkest and most coldest of nights, the memory of this song gave me the warmth I needed to keep fighting.

Journey of the Featherless | Cloud Cult

And my fingers, they are blisters
And my eyes, they are bullet holes
But my hearts still beating
Guess I’m pretty lucky”

Today, on ‘Imaginary Menagerie’: A song that makes my voices happy…
Tomorrow, on this blog: A song that helps me clear my head…

Leave a Reply

