All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Addy’s Best of 2012: The Most Underrated of the Year

Leave a comment

In addition to the Mental Health Month Challenge I have decided to undertake a more light-hearted challenge this month that I discovered on Heck Yeah Tumblr Challenges. Each day in December I will be issuing an award in celebration of everything 2012, beginning with…

The Most Underrated of the Year

~ Serena Ryder ~

Serena Ryder

Serena Ryder (b. December 8, 1982 in Toronto, Ontario[1]) is a Juno Award-winning Canadian singer-songwriter raised in Millbrook, Ontario.

Ranging musically between folk, roots, country, and adult contemporary music, Ryder possesses a five-octave range. She attended the Integrated Arts Program at Peterborough Collegiate and Vocational School in Peterborough as well as Crestwood Secondary School. As a teenager, she performed solo as well as with many bands from the Peterborough area, including Christian band Thousand Foot Krutch and Jive recording artist Three Days Grace.

from Wikipedia

Okay, given her most recent album Harmony has only just been released, it may seem a little too soon to award the most underrated award to this musician, but I am doing so because I firmly believe her music has long been underrated by the music loving public.

For years I have cherished Serena’s music. Her album Unlikely Emergency provided solace during the breakup of my relationship with Louise, whilst her album If Your Memory Serves You Well came at a time when I was slowly beginning to move forward with my life and quickly became the soundtrack to those brief months of happiness before my breakdown.

It was her album Is It O.K that provided the hope I needed to navigate the pain and trauma that was the ‘homeless’ chapter of my life. And with the release of Harmony, it is pure happenstance that I now have a new Serena Ryder album to further score the ups and downs of my rather chaotic life.

Yet through it all her music has remained on the fringe, her name drawing blank stares when it should be on the tip of everyone’s tongue.

A superb musician, a magnificent song writer and a stunning live performer, this most underrated musician deserves to be known (and loved) by all.

You can find out more about Serena Ryder (and purchase ‘Harmony’) via her website www.serenaryder.com

Heavy Love (from the album Harmony)

Weak in the Knees (from the album If Your Memory Serves You Well)

My favourite song of all time! This live performance runs to a different beat than the version I’m in love with but I have to say, it’s superb.

Stompa [with Kevin Drew] (from the album Harmony)

~ Runners up for ‘The Most Underrated of the Year’ award ~

Leave a Reply

