All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Ten years in Australia: #3. Wilson’s Promontory Fire Damage

Leave a comment

This week marks the tenth anniversary of my arrival in Australia!

In celebration, throughout this week I will be sharing some of my favourite photographs of this great country.

Fire Damage (Wilson’s Prom, Victoria 2005) © Addy

In the ten years since being in Australia I’ve had no direct experience of a bush fire. Although a serious risk when living in remote areas, they are tragedies that people living in the Inner Suburbs generally don’t have to worry about.

The photograph above was taken in October 2005, several months after a damaging bush fire devastated the Wilson’s Promontory National Park. To see first hand the scale of the damaged landscape was a humbling experience, but throughout the environmental carnage was signs of rebirth as new plants blossomed from the ashen earth and green leaves sprouted from charcoal trees.

All providing hope for a brighter future.

And when at length
The robe of night was hung around the earth
There was a scene presented to the eye
Of such like grandeur, that the pen of bard
Or artist’s pencil – mighty though they be –
Must ever fail to truthfully portray.
The hill tops seemed to be a wall of fire –
Its jagged crest fraught with a wonderous life
That leaped and flared in ruleless fitfulness
~ from Black Thursday | Mitchell Kilgour Beveridge ~

 

Leave a Reply

