All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

2 Songs…

Leave a comment

Love in the Morning (Archie Roach)

November 2002 was a monumental month in my life. Not only was it the first full month I spent in the land Down Under, it was also the month that saw me attend my first ever music gig. The location for this auspicious moment was the Athenaeum Theatre in Collins Street, Melbourne, where I saw two of the greatest Australian artists of all time.

The first act was split between solo performances from My Friend the Chocolate Cake and indigenous singer/songwriter extraordinaire Archie Roach. Whilst the second act saw both artists come together for stunning duets and revised versions from the back catalogues.

At the time I knew Archie Roach from a track on the Seachange soundtrack and loved him from the word go. However, I had never heard of My Friend the Chocolate Cake before, but over the last ten years they have become one of my favourite groups of all time and they hold the honor of being the group I have seen perform live more than any other (which currently stands at six times!)

Here Come the Sirens (My Friend the Chocolate Cake)

 

Leave a Reply

