All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

#myhomelesssignwouldsay you’re [sic] tweets are offensive

Leave a comment

Screen Capture from Twitter.com

For the last few days the hashtag #myhomelesssignwouldsay has been trending on twitter, slowly rising up the ranks of what is most tweeted about the world over.

As of 8:18am AEST it is the third most tweeted topic in the world.

Let’s not beat around the bush, this hashtag is offensive.

Homelessness has become one of the few demographics (along with the overweight and mentally ill) that society has deemed acceptable to insult, abuse and generally treat with the sort of disdain that prevents any real change from happening.

Tweets such as these do nothing but further discriminate and perpetuate the stereotypes of homeless people.

Homeless = Violent
Homeless = Sexual Predators
Homeless = Violent and Armed
Homeless = Potential Murderers

With the power that Twitter wields would it not be better to be using it to spread awareness of homelessness rather than as yet another outlet for (non)comedians to prove how (un)funny they are with grammatically atrocious one-liners?

How nice would it be to see the #wearevisible hashtag trending through compassionate discussion rather than juvenile discriminatory humour?

Now, I’m sure there are people out there who think I’m being “precious” or that I don’t have a sense of humour, but hey, I’m homeless. It ain’t fun, it ain’t pretty and it ain’t enjoyable. Half the time I smell like two-week old gorgonzola so #myhomelesssignwouldsay  “Buy your nose peg here!”

Homelessness is a stark reality for millions of people the world over. They are struggling, desperate and in real pain. All this hashtag is doing is adding to it.

Leave a Reply

