All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Original vs Cover Song #2: “Chasing Cars” (Snow Patrol)

Leave a comment

We all know that musicians love covering classic songs, but do the new versions ever better the original?

Every week I’ll pitch a cover version against the original artist and leave it up to you guys to decide which is better.

This week we have the song that inspired the name of my original blog up against two competitors! Which one do you think is the best?

#2: Chasing Cars

In the red corner we have Snow Patrol:

In the blue corner we have Natasha Bedingfield:

In the green corner we have a duet between Faith Hill and Tim McGraw: [note: this is a video of a concert so sound/vision isn’t perfect]

Whilst you’re deciding, here’s a few facts about the song:

  • The song was voted to be the best song of the decade in a poll by U.K. television channel Channel 4, in December 2009.
  • The phrase “Chasing Cars” came from Gary Lightbody’s father, in reference to a girl Lightbody was infatuated with.
  • It was the fourth best-selling digital single of 2006 in the UK and is the ninth most downloaded song in the country of all time.

So, now you’ve listened to them, time to vote. Which is your favourite? There’ll be a brand new face-off next week so if you have any song suggestions feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

