All that I am, all that I ever was…

I am more than my mental health. I am more than my homelessness. I am more than any one aspect of me. I am Addy. And this is…

Articles of Interest

Leave a comment

Every now and then I discover some excellent articles on mental health/mental illness on my travels around cyberspace, here is a brief selection:

Make way for the sun after the rain
By Michelle Hamer – October 22 2007
(from The Age – http://www.theage.com.au/)

Photographing the fine line: Mental Health/Mental Illness
By Alyson Ward – October 11 2006
(from Time Herald-Record – www.recordonline.com)

Depression more harmful than angina, says study
By Alok Jah – September 7 2007
(from The Guardian –
www.guardian.co.uk)
As I live in Australia I found the following quote from this article of particular interest: “In Australia less than 30% of patients receive good treatment with antidepressants, cognitive behavioural therapy, and proactive maintenance care. By contrast, 80% of patients with arthritis and 90% of patients with asthma receive an acceptable standard of care.”

This last one for today is an oldie, but IMHO still alarmingly relevent:

Media Release: Australia’s media joins the fight against stigma and ignorance
Released July 4 2004
(from BeyondBlue: The National Depression Initiative – www.beyondblue.org.au)

Leave a Reply

